Follow Footymad on Facebook Follow Footymad on Twitter RSS feed

Burnley's results from season 1996/1997

Results of games featuring Burnley during the season

Match result analysis
Venue Played Won Drawn Lost For Against
Home 28 16 4 8 54 32
Away 28 7 9 12 30 34
Neutral 0 0 0 0 0 0
Total 56 23 13 20 84 66
Click here to view Burnley's complete league history View Burnley's results from other seasons
Date Opponents V Type Res/KO Venue Att View options
Sat 17 Aug 1996 Luton Town A League W 2-1 Kenilworth Road 6,484   Stats Table
Tue 20 Aug 1996 Mansfield Town A League Cup W 3-0 Field Mill 1,708   Stats  
Sat 24 Aug 1996 WALSALL H League W 2-1 Turf Moor 10,322   Stats Table
Tue 27 Aug 1996 SHREWSBURY TOWN H League L 1-3 Turf Moor 9,072   Stats Table
Sat 31 Aug 1996 Millwall A League L 1-2 The Den 9,281   Stats Table
Tue 03 Sep 1996 MANSFIELD TOWN H League Cup W 2-0 Turf Moor 2,884   Stats  
Burnley won 5-0 on aggregate
Sat 07 Sep 1996 Gillingham A League L 0-1 Priestfield 6,116   Stats Table
Tue 10 Sep 1996 BLACKPOOL H League W 2-0 Turf Moor 13,599   Stats Table
Sat 14 Sep 1996 WYCOMBE WANDERERS H League W 2-1 Turf Moor 9,379   Stats Table
Tue 17 Sep 1996 Charlton Athletic A League Cup L 1-4 The Valley 4,874   Stats  
Sat 21 Sep 1996 Chesterfield A League D 0-0 Saltergate 5,529   Stats Table
Tue 24 Sep 1996 CHARLTON ATHLETIC H League Cup L 1-2 Turf Moor 2,281   Stats  
Charlton Athletic won 6-2 on aggregate
Sat 28 Sep 1996 BRISTOL CITY H League L 2-3 Turf Moor 9,538   Stats Table
Tue 01 Oct 1996 Bury A League L 0-1 Gigg Lane 7,557   Stats Table
Sat 05 Oct 1996 STOCKPORT COUNTY H League W 5-2 Turf Moor 10,332   Stats Table
Sat 12 Oct 1996 Rotherham United A League L 0-1 Millmoor 4,562   Stats Table
Tue 15 Oct 1996 Watford A League D 2-2 Vicarage Road 6,450   Stats Table
Sat 19 Oct 1996 NOTTS. COUNTY H League W 1-0 Turf Moor 9,372   Stats Table
Sat 26 Oct 1996 PLYMOUTH ARGYLE H League W 2-1 Turf Moor 9,602   Stats Table
Tue 29 Oct 1996 Preston North End A League D 1-1 Deepdale 12,652   Stats Table
Sat 02 Nov 1996 York City A League L 0-1 Bootham Crescent 5,958   Stats Table
Sat 09 Nov 1996 CREWE ALEXANDRA H League W 2-0 Turf Moor 9,459   Stats Table
Sat 16 Nov 1996 LINCOLN CITY H F.A. Cup W 2-1 Turf Moor 6,484   Stats  
Tue 19 Nov 1996 Bristol Rovers A League W 2-1 Memorial Stadium 4,123   Stats Table
Sat 23 Nov 1996 AFC BOURNEMOUTH H League W 1-0 Turf Moor 8,564   Stats Table
Sat 30 Nov 1996 Plymouth Argyle A League D 0-0 Home Park 6,289   Stats Table
Tue 03 Dec 1996 WREXHAM H League W 2-0 Turf Moor 8,587   Stats Table
Sat 07 Dec 1996 Walsall A F.A. Cup D 1-1 Bescot Stadium 5,031   Stats  
Tue 10 Dec 1996 Hartlepool United A (Assc.Mmbrs.) W 2-0 Victoria Park 921   Stats  
Sat 14 Dec 1996 BRENTFORD H League L 1-2 Turf Moor 10,575   Stats Table
Fri 20 Dec 1996 Peterborough United A League L 2-3 London Road 5,283   Stats Table
Mon 23 Dec 1996 WALSALL H F.A. Cup D 1-1 Turf Moor 5,799   Stats  
after extra time, 90 minutes 1-1, Burnley won 4-2 on penalties
Sat 28 Dec 1996 GILLINGHAM H League W 5-1 Turf Moor 10,004   Stats Table
Sat 04 Jan 1997 Liverpool A F.A. Cup L 0-1 Anfield 33,252   Stats  
Sat 11 Jan 1997 Bristol City A League L 1-2 Ashton Gate 10,013   Stats Table
Fri 17 Jan 1997 BURY H League W 3-1 Turf Moor 10,526   Stats Table
Sat 25 Jan 1997 PRESTON NORTH END H League L 1-2 Turf Moor 16,186   Stats Table
Tue 28 Jan 1997 CHESTERFIELD H League D 0-0 Turf Moor 7,903   Stats Table
Sat 01 Feb 1997 Crewe Alexandra A League D 1-1 Gresty Road 4,734   Stats Table
Tue 04 Feb 1997 STOCKPORT COUNTY H (Assc.Mmbrs.) L 0-1 Turf Moor 4,251   Stats  
Sat 08 Feb 1997 YORK CITY H League L 1-2 Turf Moor 8,961   Stats Table
Sat 15 Feb 1997 AFC Bournemouth A League D 0-0 Dean Court 6,021   Stats Table
Sat 22 Feb 1997 BRISTOL ROVERS H League D 2-2 Turf Moor 8,847   Stats Table
Tue 25 Feb 1997 Blackpool A League W 3-1 Bloomfield Road 7,331   Stats Table
Sat 01 Mar 1997 Wrexham A League D 0-0 Racecourse Ground 6,947   Stats Table
Sat 08 Mar 1997 PETERBOROUGH UNITED H League W 5-0 Turf Moor 8,646   Stats Table
Sat 15 Mar 1997 Brentford A League W 3-0 Griffin Park 6,624   Stats Table
Sat 22 Mar 1997 Walsall A League W 3-1 Bescot Stadium 6,306   Stats Table
Sat 29 Mar 1997 LUTON TOWN H League L 0-2 Turf Moor 15,490   Stats Table
Tue 01 Apr 1997 Shrewsbury Town A League L 1-2 Gay Meadow 4,462   Stats Table
Sat 05 Apr 1997 MILLWALL H League W 1-0 Turf Moor 9,840   Stats Table
Sat 12 Apr 1997 Stockport County A League L 0-1 Edgeley Park 9,187   Stats Table
Tue 15 Apr 1997 Wycombe Wanderers A League L 0-5 Adams Park 5,786   Stats Table
Sat 19 Apr 1997 ROTHERHAM UNITED H League D 3-3 Turf Moor 7,875   Stats Table
Sat 26 Apr 1997 Notts. County A League D 1-1 Meadow Lane 4,591   Stats Table
Sat 03 May 1997 WATFORD H League W 4-1 Turf Moor 8,269   Stats Table