Premier League goal of the season shortlist revealed

The Premier League have announced the shortlist for their goal of the season award, with Sebastien Haller, Manuel Lanzini and Edinson Cavani all in contention for the accolade.

The other six nominees are James Maddison, Ola Aina, Mohamed Salah, Bruno Fernandes, Erik Lamela and Jesse Lingard, with the winner to be announced later this week after votes from the public and a panel of football experts have been combined.

Haller's superb acrobatic effort against Crystal Palace ultimately turned out to be his final goal for West Ham before he completed a January move to Ajax. The Ivory Coast international produced a sumptuous overhead kick to pull his side level at the London Stadium following Vladimir Coufal's cutback.

The second of the two Hammers entrants is Lanzini after his long-range strike found the top corner to bag his side an unlikely late point against London rivals Tottenham having trailed 3-0 with just ten minutes to play.

Cavani's nomination comes off the back of his unbelievable lob which caught Fulham goalkeeper Alphonse Areola off guard, while Lingard is the third and final entrant from West Ham after he cut through the Wolves back line before slotting home.

Lamela's extraordinary Rabona in March's north London derby has been recognised along with Bruno Fernandes' pinpoint curling effort against Everton at Old Trafford.

One of the few highlights of Fulham's dismal campaign came at home against West Brom in November as Aina's thunderous first-time strike flew past Sam Johnstone and into the top corner, and the Nigeria international's effort has been nominated alongside Liverpool's rapid counter-attack away at West Ham that was clinically finished off by Salah.

The last of the nine goals to be nominated is Maddison's brilliant long-range strike against Manchester City as Leicester demolished Pep Guardiola's side 5-2 in the early stages of the season.

You can have your say on which goal you think is worthy of the goal of the season award by voting on the Premier League's official website.

Source : 90min